Musical Grant Program
General information
Performer Application
Composer Application
Presenter Application
Frequently Asked Questions
Past Awards



The Musical Grant Program acts as a catalyst for creative musical projects, raises the profile of local artists and creates opportunities for audiences to experience the rich diversity of music in the Bay Area.


The Program accepts applications for projects of the highest artistic quality that include the participation of one or more small ensembles. MGP gives small but significant awards of financial assistance to projects that support the goals and needs of both performers and audiences within Early Music, Chamber Music, New Music, Jazz and Creative Music genres.


Application deadline: Friday February 13, 2015 (postmark)


Informational Workshop: Tuesday, January 20, 2015 - 7:00 - 10:00 pm


Maximum award: up to $3,000, and up to $4,000 for projects involving commissioning.

Notification: Awards will be announced to applicants in mid-April 2015.

Grant Period: The earliest eligible project start date is July 1, 2015. Projects must be completed by June 30, 2017 (a two-year grant period).



First time applicants are required to consult with SFFCM's staff prior to applying to determine eligibility. Consultation will begin in January and can be arranged HERE.



For a list of answers to Frequently Asked Questions, please consult the MGP FAQ page on our website.

If you have any unanswered questions or concerns after checking our guidelines and FAQs, please contact our Grant Coordinator — Nicole Lungerhausen.



The SFFCM Musical Grant Program is made possible through support from the San Francisco Grants for the Arts/Hotel Tax Fund, the Clarence E. Heller Foundation, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, and the San Francisco Foundation. In the past 6 cycles, SFFCM has awarded more than $427,000 to help support 159 projects in the Greater San Francisco Bay Area. (See past awards.)


Similar Programs

CA$H (theater and dance) by Theater Bay Area.

Alternative Exposure (visual arts) by Southern Exposure.








with the Telegraph Quartet

More information and tickets





Opens internal link in current window


Upcoming Workshops


Monday, February 2nd, 7pm - 10pm

Tuning In To Your Audience: Marketing Must-Haves for Musicians

Monday, February 23rd, 7pm - 9pm

The Magic of Numbers : Income Tax Preparation for Musicians


Monday, March 16th, 7pm - 9pm

Strategic Planning for Chamber Music Ensembles




Join Our Mailing


Contact us





135 Main Street, Suite 1140

San Francisco

CA, 94105